差价合约(CFD)是高度复杂的交易工具,由于使用杠杆,CFD交易存在快速亏损的高风险。百分之72.78%的散户与该经纪商进行CFD交易都遭受亏损。您应该考虑自己是否了解差价合约的使用原理,以及是否能承受高风险的能力后,再考虑进行CFD交易。

来临的FOMC利率决议决定美元命运

九月 16, 2020

FOMC meeting

美联储周三的货币政策决议是本周头号风险事件,但许多投资者都在猜测这将对美元产生多大影响。由于预期结果较为温和,美元兑所有主要货币汇率于周一走低,今天价格走势则喜忧参半。美元兑日元继续下滑,但兑欧元走强。英镑、加元、澳元和新西兰元等其他货币兑美元汇率上涨,不过也从早前的高点回落,这意味着在纽约时段,除了美元兑日元之外,美元吸引了市场买盘。

股市已经连续第三天上涨,但这并不是因为交易者规避市场风险。美国公债收益率(殖利率)微幅上涨支撑了这一趋势,但主要原因之一是纽约州制造业指数大幅上扬。经济学家原本预计该指数将从3.7升至6.9,但最终升至17。纽约州偏低的新冠疫情感染率及持续重启经济,令制造业以2018年以来第二快的速度复苏,即使自7月起疫情一度令确诊数字急升,不过又未导致更严格的封关措施,或暗示美国经济仍有复苏空间。

预计美联储将维持现有的货币政策,会议主要焦点将会是经济预测和利率点阵图。我们知道,联邦公开市场委员会(FOMC)将对货币政策声明中的措辞将进行调整,以反映美联储的新通胀策略。今年8月,央行主席鲍威尔宣布了一个新框架,允许通胀超越美联储目标,以实现长期价格稳定。在将近十年的时间内,美国的通胀率都未达到美联储2%的目标。他们的经济预测和利率点阵图可以反映这些变化,即降低对通胀增长的预期,并推迟收紧货币政策的时间表。不过,美联储可能会上调其增长前景,这或足以推动美元走高,因为利率决议发布之前,投资者已为美联储的鸽派立场做好准备。
自上一次7月底的政策会议以来,消费者支出疲软,信心下降,就业增长放缓。不过,住房市场出现了改善,而且ISM的调查显示,制造业活动加速,而服务业则企稳。事实上,当鲍威尔宣布他们新的通货膨胀策略时,美元并没有因此而贬值,反而飙升。鲍威尔当时的评论也充满了乐观色彩,他说除了受疫情影响严重的地区以外,经济仍然很健康。因此,如果美元在FOMC货币政策出炉之后走强,这也将是预料之内,但美元不会顺利上涨。点阵图料将打压加息预期,这最初可能会令美元走低,然后再收复失地。美国零售销售报告将在货币政策公布之前发布,或为利率决议铺垫市场预期。

今天表现最强的货币是新西兰元、日元和澳元。新西兰元因为封锁措施放松而上涨、乳制品价格小幅上涨,而澳元在澳洲联储会议纪要和强劲的中国经济数据推动下走高。英国和加拿大的CPI报告定于周三发布。根据PMI数据,英国的通胀压力增加,而加拿大的物价则走软。鉴于英国央行将发布利率决议,英国数据对英镑的影响可能大于加拿大数据对加元的影响。

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 72.78% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money before trading CFDs.

Will the Upcoming FOMC Meeting be Good or Bad for the USD?

September 16, 2020

FOMC meeting

Wednesday’s Federal Reserve monetary policy announcement is the most important event risk on this week’s calendar but many investors are wondering how much impact it will have on the USD. On Monday, the dollar traded lower against all of the major currencies on the expectation for a dovish outcome, but today, the price action has been mixed. The USD extended its slide against the JPY but strengthened versus the EUR. Other currencies like GBP, CAD, AUD, and NZD ended the day up versus the USD but also descended from earlier highs which means that during the U.S. session, with the exception of the USD/JPY pair, the dollar caught a bid.

Stocks have risen for the third day in a row, but this is not because of risk aversion. This was supported by treasury yields being up slightly, but one of the main reasons is the sharp rise in the Empire State manufacturing index. Economists were looking for the index to rise to 6.9 from 3.7 but it leaped to 17. NY state’s low infection rate and continued reopening helped the manufacturing sector recover at its second-fastest pace since 2018. While some states reported spikes in virus cases over the past month, it has not led to tighter lockdown measures which means that the recovery continued.

When the Federal Reserve meets tomorrow, no changes in monetary policy are expected. The main focus will be their economic projections and dot plot forecast. We know that the language in the FOMC (Federal Open Market Committee) statement will be adjusted to account for the central bank’s new inflation strategy. In August, Chairman Powell announced a new framework that would allow inflation to overshoot their targets in order to attain long term price stability. This new approach follows nearly a decade of inflation falling short of their 2% target. Their economic projections and dot plot could reflect these changes with lowered expectations for price growth and delayed tightening. However the Fed may raise their growth outlook which could be enough to drive the USD higher because going into the rate decision, investors are positioned for a more dovish outcome.

Since their last policy meeting in late July, consumer spending softened, confidence declined and job growth slowed. However there were improvements in the housing market and according to the ISM surveys, manufacturing activity accelerated at a faster pace while services stabilised. In fact, when Powell announced their new inflation strategy, the USD soared instead of weakening because of this. Powell’s comments at the time also contained some optimism, as he described the overall economy as healthy, apart from virus hit areas. It would not be surprising if the USD gained strength on FOMC but some volatility is likely. Reductions in rate hike expectations via the dot plot could drive the USD down initially but it could end the day higher. US retail sales will be released before the monetary policy announcement and could set expectations for the rate decision.

The strongest currencies today were the NZD, JPY, and AUD. NZD rallied as relaxed lockdown restrictions eased and dairy prices ticked higher while AUD perked up after the RBA (Reserve Bank of Australia) minutes and on stronger Chinese data. The UK and Canadian CPI reports are scheduled for release on Wednesday. According to the PMIs, inflationary pressures in the UK accelerated while prices in Canada softened. With a Bank of England rate decision on this week’s calendar, UK data could have more impact on GBP than CAD data on the Canadian dollar.

Open an Account. Get started in less than 5 minutes